Leatherhead Register Office, also known as The Mansion, offers the following ceremonies:
- Marriage or civil partnership ceremony
- Civil partnership to marriage conversion
- Ceremony to renew your vows
- Naming ceremony
Our interior and grounds
- Number of rooms: 1
- Capacity: Couple and 48 guests (including children and babies)
- The State Room: The state room is furnished in blue, cream and gold, with mahogany woodwork.
- Conservatory: The conservatory adjoins the State Room. It has a wrought iron 'kissing seat', and provides an opportunity for wet weather photographs.
- Grounds: The large grounds has a terrace and steps leading down to lawns and walkways, providing a stunning backdrop for photographs.
History of The Mansion
The first house was built during the reign of Henry VIII and thought to have been rebuilt in 1710 by Alexander Akehurst. Some of its many occupants have been, a Royal Falconer, a Lord Lieutenant of Surrey and, during a period of notoriety, Lord Jeffreys who became known as the 'Hanging Judge' after the Monmouth Rebellion.
As well as being a private home, it has also been used as a school, a billet for Canadian troops during World War II and latterly by Surrey County Council to house the library and other council services.
In May 2000 the ground floor rooms were restored to their former glory to become the Register Office.