County district and parish council functions

There is a two tier system of local government in Surrey, the county council and the 11 district and borough councils. Generally, the county council is responsible for the more strategic functions and services such as education and social care whereas the districts and boroughs provide more local services. Some functions are shared between county and district.

Please scroll down the page or use the content list to jump to information within this page.

County council's responsibilities

  • Birth, marriage and death registration
  • Education
  • Fire
  • Highways – including on-street parking, traffic management, and street lighting
  • Libraries
  • Recreation, arts and museums
  • Social care
  • Strategic planning
  • Trading standards
  • Transport
  • Waste disposal

Contact us for further information.

District and borough council's responsibilities

  • Collection of council tax and non-domestic rates
  • Environmental health
  • Housing
  • Leisure centres
  • Local plans and planning applications
  • Public conveniences
  • Waste collection

Contact your borough or district council for further information.

District and borough councillors

You can find information about your district/borough councillors online using the website.

Parish and town council's responsibilities

Surrey also has a number of parish and town councils. They have differing responsibilities. provides details on their information about how local councils work. You could also contact your local borough or district council for more information.

Subscribe to our newsletters for latest news and events.