Police and Crime Panel Membership

Surrey's twelve local authorities have agreed the formal arrangements for the Surrey Police and Crime Panel and have appointed twelve councillors to be Panel Members (see details of appointments below). These arrangements form part of the Panel's constitution which was ratified in 2012.

Under Schedule 6 of the Police Reform and Social Responsibility Act 2011, two compulsory non-political Independent Members are required to join the membership of the Panel as full Panel Members with voting rights. A thorough recruitment process is undertaken for Independent Member roles on the Surrey Police and Crime Panel.

As the host authority for the Surrey Police and Crime Panel, Surrey County Council provides administrative and other support to the panel and its members.

  • Waverley Borough Council - Councillor John Robini (Chairman)
  • Tandridge District Council - Councillor Richard Smith
  • Surrey County Council - Councillor Keith Witham
  • Elmbridge Borough Council - Councillor Barry Cheyne
  • Epsom and Ewell Borough Council - Councillor Alex Coley
  • Guildford Borough Council - Councillor Danielle Newson
  • Mole Valley District Council - Councillor Paul Kennedy
  • Reigate and Banstead Borough Council - Councillor Victor Lewanski
  • Spelthorne Borough Council - Councillor Harry Boparai
  • Surrey Heath Borough Council - Councillor Richard Wilson
  • Runnymede Borough Council - Councillor Nick Prescot
  • Woking Borough Council - Councillor Ellen Nicholson
  • Independent Member - Mr Martin Stilwell (Vice-Chairman)
  • Independent Member - Vacancy