Listed buildings and conservation areas

Built heritage and planning

The Historic Environment Planning Team provides advice to Surrey County Council on matters relating to listed buildings, locally listed buildings and conservation areas. This includes minerals and waste sites and properties owned by the County Council. All other planning applications are managed by the 11 borough and district councils in the county. Further information on this and the services offered by the team can be found below.

Listed buildings

Surrey has over six thousand buildings of historic interest.

If you own a listed building you will need listed building consent to make alterations. You may also need planning permission. Decisions regarding this process are the responsibility of your local district or borough council.

The statutory list is available from the Historic England website.

If you are unable to find a listed building on this website it may be that this is because the building's name has been changed, please contact your district or borough council for a definitive ruling on whether a building is listed:

The Historic England website can provide you with more information on listed buildings, including how to apply to have your building listed.

Anyone can apply for a building to be listed. If you wish to have a building considered, you should visit the Historic England website.

The application should be supported by as much information as possible, including:

  • The address of the building
  • The reasons why you believe it may merit listing
  • Clear original external and internal photographs
  • The name and contact details of the owner
  • A location map

The more information that is supplied the quicker a listing application can be dealt with.

For help with the listing process or for any questions regarding the process, please contact Historic England Customer Services at the following email: or telephone: 0370 333 0607.

The Historic Environment Planning Team provides advice and guidance on the Listed Buildings owned by Surrey County Council. If you have a query or concern about one of the Council's own properties, please email the Historic Buildings Officer at

Conservation areas

There are 200 conservation areas in Surrey. The first tranche of designations related to the historic town and village centres, but the conservation areas designated more recently recognise the importance of specialist sites such as Brooklands motor racing circuit, the Wey Navigation and the Epsom hospital sites.

Responsibility for the day-to-day management of conservation areas, preparation of character appraisals and schemes for their preservation and enhancement rests with the relevant local district or borough council.

For queries about conservation areas, please contact your local district or borough council:

Subscribe to our newsletters for latest news and events.