County Council

A council of 81 democratically elected Members (or Councillors) represent the people of Surrey. Elections are held every four years.

The County Council meets approximately every six weeks on a Tuesday. All 81 Surrey County Councillors meet together to constitute the County Council. The meetings are open to the public, although the public are not able to participate in the meeting. The dates of the County Council meetings are published well in advance.

The Council sets the framework within which the Cabinet operates through the corporate plan, budget and major policy plans. It elects the Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the Council annually and appoints the committees of the Council. It also elects the Leader of the Council for a four year period and may remove him/her from office.

The Chairman of the Council presides over meetings of the County Council and acts as the principal spokesman for the Council on civic and ceremonial occasions. The Chairman also fulfils a range of ceremonial and public functions as the civic leader of the Council. The Chairman always acts on behalf of the whole Council.


Live and archived meetings can be viewed via Surrey County Council webcasts.

Subscribe to our newsletters for latest news and events.