Skip to main content

Get involved in a local disability group

Including mental health, learning disabilities, autism, physical and sensory disabilities, and long term neurological conditions

Surrey County Council often seeks to involve people who use their services in designing new services, or changing existing ones. There are a number of specific groups that meet regularly to discuss services and issues of relevance. Click on the links below to get more information about each of the groups.


Valuing People Groups

We operate four Local Valuing People Groups in Surrey to ensure that people at a local level are involved and informed. These groups meet quarterly and enable everyone to have a say at a local level on what and how things can be done for those people with a learning disability. More specifically, they ensure people with a learning disability and their families have a voice and can contribute to improving their local communities. Each of the groups feeds into Surrey's Learning Disability Partnership Board.

Return to top

The Surrey Positive Behaviour Support Network

The Surrey Positive Behaviour Support Network is a group of providers, commissioners, professionals, people with a learning disability and/or autism and family carers. The group meets quarterly to improve support for people whose behaviour may challenge in a way that threatens the quality of life, or the physical safety, of the individual or others to become a voice for best practice. The aim is for this to then be reflected in strategic planning and service development in Surrey.

Contact details

If you would like to join the Surrey Positive Behaviour Support Network, please send an email to pbs@surreycc.gov.uk

Return to top

Disability Empowerment Network Surrey

The Disability Empowerment Network Surrey is made up of groups of local disabled people and their carers, who meet quarterly to discuss issues that affect them. The groups aim to engage and empower the local disabled community and to champion their interests. As well as disabled people and their carers, representatives from local organisations such as Surrey County Council and the NHS regularly attend meetings.

Over the last year, members of these groups have been consulted on and fed in to a number issues and reviews including:

  • South Western Railways and Govia Thameslink Railway franchises
  • Surrey County Council transport review
  • Community Hospital review
  • Outside dining and 'A boards' on pavements
  • Accessible pharmacies, dentists, GPs, shops and venues

East Surrey - Reigate and Banstead, Tandridge

Venue: The Orpheus Centre, North Park Lane, Godstone, RH9 8ND.

  • Monday 10 December 2018, 1.30pm - 3.30pm
  • Monday 11 March 2019, 11am - 1pm
  • Monday 20 May 2019, 11am - 1pm
  • Monday 23 September 2019, 11am - 1pm
  • Monday 9 December 2019, 11am - 1pm

Mid Surrey - Elmbridge, Epsom and Ewell, Molesey, Mole Valley, Walton on Thames

Venue: Parkhouse, Leatherhead, KT22 0AH.

  • Monday 3 December 2018, 10.30am - 12.30pm
  • Monday 25 March 2019, 10.30am - 12.30pm
  • Wednesday 15 May 2019, 10.30am - 12.30pm
  • Monday 9 September 2019, 10.30am - 12.30pm
  • Monday 16 December 2019, 10.30am - 12.30pm

North Surrey - Runnymede, Spelthorne, Surrey Heath, Woking

Venue: Addlestone Community Centre, Garfield Road, Addlestone, KT15 2NJ.

  • Tuesday 4 December 2018, 2pm - 4pm
  • Tuesday 12 March 2019, 2pm - 4pm
  • Tuesday 14 May 2019, 2pm - 4pm
  • Tuesday 10 September 2019, 2pm - 4pm
  • Tuesday 3 December 2019, 2pm - 4pm

South West Surrey - Farnham, Guildford and Waverley

Venue: Godalming Baptist Church, Queen Street, Godalming, GU7 1BA.

  • Wednesday 28 November 2018, 10.30am - 12.30pm
  • Monday 18 March 2019, 10.30am - 12.30pm
  • Monday 13 May 2019, 10.30am - 12.30pm
  • Monday 16 September 2019, 10.30am - 12.30pm
  • Monday 2 December 2019, 10.30am - 12.30pm

Contact details

If you would like to know more about or attend one of these groups, please send an email to asc.engagement@surreycc.gov.uk, or call or text 07970 749933.

Return to top

Special Interest Groups

Surrey County Council commission special interest groups, which take place quarterly, for people with specific impairments. The purpose of these groups is to engage with and get feedback from people who use council services.

Hard of Hearing Forum

  • Thursday 13 December 2018, 10.30am - 1pm
  • Thursday 21 March 2019, 10.30am - 1pm
  • Thursday 20 June, 2019, 10.30am - 1pm
  • Thursday 19 September, 2019, 10.30am - 1pm
  • Thursday 12 December, 2019, 10.30am - 1pm

Long Term Neurological Conditions Group

  • Tuesday 20 November 2018, 10.30am - 1pm
  • Tuesday 12 February 2019, 10.30am - 1pm
  • Tuesday 14 May 2019, 10.30am - 1pm
  • Tuesday 13 August 2019, 10.30am - 1pm
  • Tuesday 12 November 2019, 10.30am - 1pm

Surrey Vision Action Group

  • Thursday 25 October 2018, 10.15am - 12.30pm
  • Thursday 10 January 2019, 10.15am - 12.30pm
  • Thursday 18 April 2019, 10.15am - 12.30pm
  • Thursday 18 July 2019, 10.15am - 12.30pm
  • Thursday 24 October 2019, 10.15am - 12.30pm

Contact details

If you would like to know more about or attend one of these groups, please send an email to asc.engagement@surreycc.gov.uk, or call or text 07970 749933.

Return to top

Surrey and North East Hampshire Independent Mental Health Network

The Surrey and North-East Hampshire Independent Mental Health Network is run by run by Surrey Coalition for people who have experienced mental ill-health, or who care for someone who has, to help improve services.

Top