Skip to main content

What's on in Surrey

Looking for things to do in Surrey?

The seasons have changed and autumn is here, but the activity doesn't stop in Surrey. A retro fair to bring you back in time, a week-long book festival for the bookworms and a spooky train ride through a vineyard. So there's still lots to do whatever your interests.

4 May – 29 November: Polesden Lacey presents Power Play - Power Play explores the social power of inimitable Edwardian socialite Margaret Greville. From quiet beginnings as the illegitimate daughter of a wealthy Scottish brewer, Maggie rose up the social ladder to become an influential member of high society, counting the likes of King Edward VII among her close friends. Visit the National Trust Polesden Lacey website for more details.

4 September – 7 October: Aroid Display in The Glasshouse, RHS Wisley, Woking – Philodendron enthusiasts and all green fingered gardeners will not want to miss this wonderful display in The Glasshouse on the grounds of Wisely. It's a lovely opportunity to admire the giant leaves and beautiful flowers up close and it may even inspire you to grow your own in your garden. Tuesday – Sunday, 10am – 5.15pm. Tickets: £14.50 for adults, £7.25 for children between 5 and 16 years old. Visit the RHS website for more details and to book tickets.

15 – 29 September: Surrey Unearthed, Harvest Installation, Lower Box Hill Farm – See the countryside light up the night sky as part of the Surrey Unearthed project highlighting the natural beauty of the Surrey Hills. Artist Mary Branson has created an illuminated art installation celebrating the local endangered Straw Belle moth. Black hay bales arranged in the shape of the moth will be visible from Salomon's Memorial which will allow you to see the exhibition from afar. There will also be guided night time walks, and performances inspired by the Surrey landscape. Saturday – Saturday, 8pm – 10pm. Visit the Surrey Unearthed website for more details.

27 September: Joke in the box, The Lightbox, Woking – Fancy going to a comedy night show? The popular series of stand-up nights is set to continue at The Lightbox. Featuring the best up-and-coming and well known acts on the stand-up circuit. Need some food to go along with the show? Reserve or buy a burger on the night. Tickets are limited so make sure to book yours in advance. Thursday 8pm – 10pm. Tickets: from £8. Visit The Lightbox website for more details about Joke in the box.

28 September: Gregg Wallace: Doesn't Get Tougher Than This, The Maltings, Farnham – Fans of 'Masterchef' and 'Eat Well for Less' will not want to miss this show with live demonstrations, hilarious behind the scenes tales and audience games with Gregg Wallace. There will also be a Q and A session at the end of the show so you can ask Gregg to spill the beans. Friday 8pm. Tickets from £20, VIP tickets include a meet and greet with Gregg after the show. Visit the Farnham Maltings website for more details and to book tickets.

29 September – 13 January 2019: Impressionism: The Art of Life, The Lightbox, Woking – Walk into the world of impressionism and view the rare paintings and sculptures by world renowned artists, Paul Cezanne, Edgar Degas and Pierre-August Renoir. The stunning works portray everyday life in France during the 1860s to the beginning of World War One. This is a must see for all who love art. Tuesday – Sunday, 10.30am – 5pm. Tickets: £5 adults Day Pass, children under 18 go free. Visit The Lightbox website for more details and to book tickets.

2 October: MK Ultra, G Live, Guildford – This extraordinary show by the Rosie Kay Dance Company explores the conspiracy of mind control hidden in plain sight. MK ULTRA is the CIA code word for the real LSD-fuelled brainwashing technique developed by the US military. This visual treat will take you to a world beyond reality. Tuesday 8pm. Tickets: £18.50 for adults, £15 for children under 16 and students. Visit the G Live website for more details and to book tickets.

3 October: Come and Sing Evening, United Reformed Church Hall, Ewell – Join the Epsom Male Choir for an evening of singing and learning. All abilities are welcome and you are invited to join the group for refreshments at The Eight Bells in Ewell after the rehearsal to get to know the members. Wednesday 7.30pm – 10pm. Visit the Epsom Male Choir website for more details.

6 – 7 October: Surrey Hills Wood Fair, Fishpond Copse, Cranleigh Showground – Celebrate wood in the beautiful setting of the woods and meadows in the Surrey Hills Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. Full of rural charm, there is something for everyone with lots for children to do from zip wires, tree climbing, crafts and animal attractions. Dogs are welcome on leads. Saturday Sunday, 10am – 5pm. Tickets: £7.88 for adults, children under 12 go free. Visit the Guildford Borough Council website for more details and to book tickets.

6 – 14 October: Guildford Book Festival, Guildford – The festival brings together a vibrant mix of authors and artists from around the world. There will be eight days of outstanding conversation and lively debate in various locations around Guildford. There are also plenty of events for kids to join in as well. The events will be held at various times and venues around Guildford. Visit the Guildford Book festival website for more details and to book tickets.

9 October: Mole Veterans Brass Band, Old Barn Hall, Bookham – If you have a day off work, why not attend a lovely autumn afternoon concert? The band will feature favourites from the show 'Last Night of the Proms' and more. There will be refreshments during the interval and a chance for you to join a raffle to win a prize. Free entry. Tuesday 2pm. Visit the Mole Veterans Band website for more details.

13 October 2018 – 6 January 2019: Elisabeth Frink: A Collector's Passion, The Lightbox, Woking – Explore nature and humanity with the personal collection of renowned printmaker and sculptor, Elisabeth Frink. Chris Ingram, the current owner will shed light on the key themes Elisabeth explored throughout her career. Saturday 2.30pm. Tickets: £5, children under 18 years old go free. Visit The Lightbox website for more details about Elisabeth Frink: A Collector's Passion.

20 October: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland, Vera Fletcher Hall, Thames Ditton – The Cat's Grin Theatre Company presents a highly original retelling of the Lewis Carroll classic where questions are answered and answers are questioned. Get ready to go down the rabbit hole for a weird and wonderful adventure in Wonderland. Suited for children between the ages of 4 -11 years old. Saturday 2.30pm. Tickets: £8. Visit the Vera Fletcher Hall website for more details.

20 October: The Great Surrey Heritage Show, Surrey History Centre, Woking – Step behind the scenes and discover unique archaeological finds on display for the first time with the Surrey Heritage centre celebrating their 70 year's anniversary. Go on a guided tour and have a look at the huge collection which holds documents dating back to the 12th Century. There is plenty for the whole family to get stuck in, so come and learn something new. Saturday 10.30am – 3.30pm. Visit the Surrey History webpage for more details.

20 – 31 October: Pumpkin Carving, Hatchland Park, East Clandon – Want to do something fun for Halloween? Come and pick a pumpkin, carve a spooky face or whatever you like and take it home to ward off any ghostly visitors. Normal National Trust entrance fee applies. 10.30am – 3.30pm. Tickets: £3.15. Visit the Visit Surrey website for more details and to book tickets.

23 and 26 October: Spooky Train Ride and Storytelling, Denbies Wine Estate, Dorking – The season for ghouls and ghost stories is here, so dress up in your spookiest costume and hop on a train in the vineyard to listen to creepy stories. The prices include a hot drink for adults and a chocolate treat for children. Tickets: £3 for adults, £7.50 for children. Tuesday and Friday 10am, 11am and 12pm. Visit the Ticket Island website for more details.

27 October: Festival of Crafts, Farnham Maltings, Farnham – Over 80 of the UK's leading craftspeople will be selling homewares, jewellery, textiles, ceramics, leatherwork, glass and more. As it is leading up to Christmas, this will be a perfect opportunity to do your gift shopping especially if you're looking for something unique. Saturday 10am – 5pm. Tickets: £3 on the door or £4 online, children under 15 years old go free. Visit the Farnham Maltings website for more details about the Festival of Crafts.

27 – 28 October: The Jukebox and Retro Fair, Chessington – Go back in time for a weekend of jive dancing, vintage clothes, coke fridges, jukeboxes and more. There will be classic cars and motor bikes on display for car enthusiasts, if the weather permits. So dress up and make a day of it with your family and friends, this is one you don't want to miss. Saturday – Sunday, 10am – 5pm. Tickets: £10 for adults, £3 for children up to 12 years old. Visit the Jukebox Fair website for more details and to book tickets.

28 October: Nerina Pallot, Camberley Theatre, Camberley – One for the pop fans, the critically acclaimed classic pop singer Nerina Pallot who is on her solo tour will be performing songs from her latest album 'Stay Lucky'. Musicians Bernard Butler, Marjus Feehily and Rod Thomas will be joining Pallot on stage. Sunday 7.30pm. Tickets: £19.50. Visit the Camberley Theatre website for more details and to book tickets.

30 – 31 October: Halloween Walk on the Dark Side, Ewell – Are you brave enough to discover the darker side of Ewell's history? Tour graveyards, learn about Ewell's resident witch Joan Butts, get to know the Resurrection Men and more. Sign up and be prepared to be spooked. Monday – Tuesday, 5.30pm – 6.30pm and7.30pm – 9pm. Tickets: £5. Visit the Surrey Archaeology website for more details and to book tickets.

Top