Skip to main content

January top ten books

Image of books

A round up of this month's best reads

Here are Surrey Libraries choice of top ten books for this month and there are some great reads to get stuck into. This month we have some books that take us back in time with period novels aboard the fateful voyage of the Titanic, ancient tales of Vikings and the Trojans or if you fancy something funny, there are also some laugh-out-loud reads to choose from too.

1. The Women Of Troy by Pat Barker: First up is a book which extraordinarily retells one of our greatest myths. This is a mesmerising story in the aftermath of the Trojan War which follows old feuds and new ambitions. A real page turner which brings ancient characters and stories to life.

2. History by Miles Jupp: Actor and comedian Miles Jupp delivers this hilarious and heart-breaking novel about a frustrated private school teacher called Clive, who feels stuck when his life doesn't seem to be going to plan – his job is consuming his life and his marriage is on the brink. Has he got it in him to turn things round whatever the cost?

3. 1979 by Val McDermid: This is the first heart-pounding novel in a period crime series. It follows reporter Allie Burns who is hunting the dark secrets that lie behind the veneer of respectable Scotland in 1979. Allie is a woman in a man's world - and putting a foot wrong could be fatal.

4. Orphans of the Storm by Celia Imrie: Set aboard the fateful 1912 voyage of The Titanic, this period novel dives into the waters of the past to unearth an epic tale of the sinking of The Titanic. It follows the lives of two families who cross paths aboard the ship, and realise nothing will ever be the same again.

5. As Good As Dead by Holly Jackson: The third and final thrilling book in the bestselling, award-winning A Good Girl's Guide to Murder trilogy. Pick up this page-turning finale to find out what happens to main character Pip, who is haunted by the way her last investigation ended. Sinister attention turns to Pip herself as she races to find a criminal before the past catches up with her. If she doesn't find the answers, this time she will be the one who disappears.

6. The Amazing Edie Eckhart by Rosie Jones: The debut children's book from comedian Rosie Jones is an endearing and laugh-out-loud story of Edie, a schoolgirl with cerebral palsy and a love of performance. As Edie discovers her passion, she also finds new friendships, talents, and dreams. This book is perfect for fans of Jacqueline Wilson books.

7. The Vikings by Marcia Williams: Meet legendary warriors, daring explorers and clever kings in this colourful introduction to the Vikings. With Marcia Williams (and Loki!) as your guide, discover incredible stories of Viking raids, voyages of discovery and conquered kingdoms. Told in comic-strip style and packed with jokes and facts, this is the perfect guide to the world of the Vikings.

8. Four Thousand Weeks by Oliver Burkeman: This book takes a highly entertaining and eye-opening look at our time on earth – roughly four thousand weeks – and explores how best we can use them, with a little help from history's great philosophers, authors and artists. Embrace your limits. Change your life. Make your four thousand weeks count!

9. They by Sarfraz Manzoor: This book looks at the divisions between British Muslim and non-Muslim populations and provides a powerful and deeply personal exploration of a divided country and of a radical vision for change. It is the story of modern, Muslim Britain as it has never been told.

10. What Would The Aunties Say by Anchal Seda: Based on the podcast of the same name, this book is a funny yet informative life guide for young women of a South Asian heritage growing up in a very different world to that of their parents and older relatives.

Top