Skip to main content

Surrey Local Heritage Lists

Published: 24 September 2021

What heritage sites would you protect?

Residents are being asked what they would like to see protected by 'Local Heritage Listing'. As part of the Government's 'Build Back Better' initiative, the Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government (MHCLG) in association with Historic England has provided funding to 22 areas to develop local heritage asset lists. Surrey is one of the areas to have received this funding.

Once adopted, the lists will be used to inform the planning process and guide future decisions around the use and custodianship of local heritage assets.

Who's involved?

Six Surrey boroughs and districts are taking part in the project: Elmbridge, Epsom and Ewell, Mole Valley, Surrey Heath, Tandridge and Woking. Those who've chosen not to take part either have up to date lists or are carrying out their own reviews.

What makes a heritage site?

Local lists have traditionally focused on buildings but recognising that there are a wide variety of sites that are important to local communities, it's hoped that suggestions will come forward which include all types of places.

How do I take part?

From the 5 October residents can suggest new assets for the lists by vising the Surrey County Council website and using the online nomination tool. Nominations will be assessed against a set of selection criteria, and draft lists compiled for each borough and district will then be consulted on early next year.

For more information and nominations please visit: Local heritage list project

Read more articles in this section

View all articles in this section