2) Electoral areas in the parliamentary county of Surrey

Before 1832

Until 1832, 'county' for Parliamentary elections was the same as 'county' for any other purpose and the two MPs for Surrey represented the whole county, which then stretched as far north-east as Rotherhithe.

1832-1868

The Representation of the People Act, 1832 (2 Will IV c45) provided for the dividing of certain counties, into two divisions, their boundaries being settled by a further Act passed later in 1832 (2 Will IV c64). Surrey was divided into East Surrey and West Surrey.

1868-1885

The Representation of the People Act, 1867 (30 and 31 Vict c102) divided the East Surrey division into East and Mid Surrey, leaving West Surrey unchanged.

1885-1918

The Representation of the People Act, 1884 (48 Vict.c3) was followed by a Redistribution of Seats Act, 1885 (48 and 49 Vict.c23) which divided Surrey into six constituencies - North-Western or Chertsey, South-Western or Guildford, South-Eastern or Reigate, Mid or Epsom, Kingston, and North-Eastern or Wimbledon. The Local Government Act, 1888 (51 and 52 Vict. c41) created a new County of London, including much of north-east Surrey, and a new County Borough of Croydon, but this Act did not affect parliamentary constituencies. The North-Eastern or Wimbledon division included, and continued to include until 1918, the places in metropolitan Surrey which were taken into the county of London, and also Croydon. Most of the electors in these places voted in their borough constituencies and will be found only in the borough electoral registers: only electors with an 'ownership' qualification were entitled to be entered on the county electoral register and to vote in parliamentary elections for the North-Eastern Surrey constituency.

1918-1944

The Representation of the People Act, 1918, (7 and 8 Geo 5, c64) for the first time defined parliamentary counties and parliamentary boroughs as mutually exclusive areas. The parliamentary county of Surrey, therefore, no longer included the places in the County of London and the County Borough of Croydon, and three other parliamentary boroughs were created: Kingston upon Thames, Richmond and Wimbledon. The rest of the county was divided into seven constituencies: Chertsey, Eastern Surrey, Epsom, Farnham, Guildford, Mitcham, and Reigate.

1944-1948

The House of Commons (Redistribution of Seats) Act 1944 (7 and 8 George VI c41) created a body of Boundary Commissioners to carry out regular reviews of constituency boundaries, charging them immediately with the division of constituencies containing more than 100,000 electors. Under these provisions, the Surrey county constituencies of Epsom and Mitcham were divided into four: Epsom and Carshalton county constituencies and Mitcham and Sutton and Cheam parliamentary borough constituencies.

1948 to the present day

The Representation of the People Act, 1948 (11 and 12 George VI c65) redefined constituency boundaries. In addition to Kingston upon Thames, Richmond and Wimbledon, which had become borough constituencies in 1918, and Sutton and Cheam and Mitcham, created in 1945, Merton and Morden was created a borough constituency and the rest of the county was divided into ten county constituencies.

The House of Commons (Redistribution of Seats Act), 1949 (12 and 13 George VI c66) confirmed the establishment of Boundary Commissioners, but their recommendations no longer needed to be enacted by Act of Parliament. They are now laid before Parliament and, if approved, take effect by Order in Council.

(a) Review of 1955

This review made no change in the area covered by the parliamentary county or in the county constituencies, although it altered the boundaries of certain borough constituencies and created new one, Surbiton, out of part of Kingston upon Thames constituency.

(b) London Government Act, 1963

The parts of Surrey transferred to Greater London in 1965 comprised the areas of the seven borough constituencies - Kingston upon Thames, Richmond, Wimbledon, Mitcham, Sutton and Cheam, Surbiton and Merton and Morden - and parts of two county constituencies - Carshalton and East Surrey. The anomalies thus created remained until the review of 1970. Part of Middlesex was transferred to Surrey in 1965, comprising the area of Spelthorne county constituency.

(c) Review of 1970

This review reduced the area of the parliamentary county by creating five new borough constituencies - Spelthorne, Chertsey and Walton, Esher, Epsom and Ewell, and Reigate - and divided the remaining parliamentary county into six county constituencies.

(d) Local Government Act, 1972

This Act (s.39) transferred electoral registration to district councils. The Clerk of the County Council does not, therefore, now compile any electoral registers, although he receives copies of electoral registers from the district registration officers.

(d) Review of 1983

This review altered constituency boundaries and renamed some constituencies. Changes in boundaries in Surrey were comparatively minor and there were only two changes of name from the former constituencies.